MSc Teaching and Faculty

Teaching on the degree is provided by leading scholars in the field, who draw on their own research to illustrate theoretical, ethical, methodological and practical issues. It is problem-focused and aims to give students critical analytical skills.

The degree is taught through a combination of lectures, seminars and tutorials; a critical discussion class and student-led presentations; essays and library work leading to a dissertation. The course admits around 26 students each year and students have individual supervision.

The MSc in Migration Studies 2018-19 is convened by Professor Biao Xiang; staff teaching on the degree include:

Core Staff:

  • Professor Biao Xiang, COMPAS (various types of migration: internal and international, unskilled and highly-skilled, emigration, left behind and return—in China, India and Australia).
  • Associate Professor Dace Dzenovska, COMPAS (migration, diaspora politics, state building, governance, borders, nationalism and democratization in Eastern Europe and the former Soviet Union)
  • Associate Professor Ruben Andersson, ODID (migration and development, borders and security, irregular migration)

Other Teaching Staff:

Staff contributing to the degree each year is subject to change.

Download the MSc_Migration_Studies_Handbook_2017-18

Teaching Excellence Awards

The degree has received four University Awards for its innovative and effective teaching (two in 2012, one in 2013, and one in 2014), and one shortlisted nomination for the Student Union Teaching Award (2014).